Why 8th June count as World Ocean Day?

As we all know Earth consist 70% of water and 30% of land.

This 70% water consist of :



and other large water bodies.

During the Earth Summit in 1992, the UN Conference on Environment and Development (UNCED) suggested the idea of celebrating global/world ocean day. It took 16 years, the UN General Assembly passed a resolution in 2008 to designate 8 June as World Oceans Day.

The purpose of the day, as such, is to inform people of the

·       Effects of human actions on the ocean.

·       Create a worldwide drive for the ocean

This year’s theme is ‘The Ocean: Life and Livelihoods’. According to the official UN website, “this year’s annual event will focus:

·       On the marvel of the ocean and how important it is for our life,

·       Supporting people and every other organism on Earth”.

Mainly, there are four oceans:

  1. The Atlantic

2. The Pacific

3.The Indian

4. The Arctic

However, most countries – including the United States – now recognize the Southern (Antarctic) as the fifth ocean. The Pacific, Atlantic, and Indian are the most commonly known. The Southern Ocean is the ‘newest’ named .

Leave a Reply